top of page

Peace officer of the year

Updated: Jan 4, 2023

The North Dakota Peace Officer of the Year Award is the highest honor given by the North Dakota Peace Officers Association. The award is presented to a North Dakota peace officer based upon the officer’s outstanding service, professional dignity, and unselfish personal contributions to the citizens of North Dakota.

The award serves as recognition of those officers who display a consistent mark of excellence within their profession.


  1. Candidate must be eligible for membership within the NDPOA and should be a non-administrative sworn officer.

  2. Candidate must display a highly professional appearance and provide superior performance in their assigned duties.

  3. Candidate must perform service for the citizens of North Dakota.

  4. Candidate must be held in high regard by fellow peace officers and the general public.

Nomination Process:

  1. Candidates may be nominated by any North Dakota peace officer.

  2. Nominations shall consist of no more than four type-written pages and shall include:

    1. a brief biography of the candidate;

    2. a narrative stating the basis for the nomination;

    3. the candidate’s agency, assignment and years of service;

    4. previous awards, honors or other recognition received by the candidate.

    5. a high quality photo of the candidate.

  3. Nomination shall include the name, address, and agency of the nominating official.

All nominations shall be received by the Awards Committee no later than June 15th, in order to be considered for the award.

The North Dakota Peace Officers Association Executive Board shall serve as the award selection committee, for this award.

The ND Peace Officer of the Year Award will be presented during the North Dakota Peace Officers Association’s Annual Conference.

Nominations can be submitted in hard copy or by email to:


Attn: POY Award Nomination

1100 N 47th Street, Suite 100

Grand Forks, ND 58203

266 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page